Four Names Eats: Tex Mex Baked Chicken Wraps

I am a big fan of quick meals, but I  am not a fan of sacrificing the healthfulness of the food I feed my family. When I go grocery shopping, I make a list and try to plan out my meals, but inevitably, one of us ends up eating the broccoli for the broccoli rice casserole as a snack or I Elliott refuses to eat anything but cucumbers for three days straight, so I don’t have any left on the night I planned to soak them in homemade vinaigrette. I try to make a point of not bringing (too much) junk into the house so it’s easier to resist temptation, but that can limit my ability to roll with the punched sometimes. So, inevitably, I spend a lot of time making stuff up as I go along. This meal was one of those.

We don’t eat a ton of meat usually, but we’re definitely omnivores in this house. With that said, as a family, we eat a fraction of what most people would consider a single serving or two when it comes to meat. I like to buy free range, antibiotic-free, vegetable grain-fed, air chilled chicken breasts in the family packs when they go on sale at Central Market. That’s a lot of adjectives for one pack of chicken, but you can truly taste a difference. At least I can! Anyway..

30 Minute Meal: Tex Mex-style Baked Chicken Wraps
 Screen shot 2014-10-13 at 9.56.59 PM

For four servings, I use one to two breasts (depending on size), fully butterflied. Bake the breast filets in foil packets at 450 degrees for 20 minutes. Quick, easy, and no pan to clean later!

While the chicken is baking, start your pot of black beans. I use the Central Market Organics canned black beans, drained and rinsed. Add a wedge of sliced onion and a piece of bacon for flavoring (if you want).

While the chicken continues baking and your black beans start to boil, dice your veggies. I used sweet Vidalia onions, red bell pepper, cucumber, tomatoes, avocados, and canned green chiles (all organic). I take out what I need for my guacamole and put the rest on a plate, which will be used as the fillings for everyone to make their own wrap at the table.

Wash and chop your lettuce of choice (I use romaine most frequently) and whole leaf cilantro. I buy the romaine hearts in a 3 pack, usually no more than $2 for organic. Can’t beat it. Toss the romaine in your favorite dressing. I usually make a homemade citrus white balsamic vinaigrette, but that’s a post for another time.

Shred your cheese of choice. This time, I used Tillamook habanero jack. I always shred my own cheese because the pre-shredded stuff has cellulose (a.k.a. the compound that gives wood its strength and is commonly added to food as an anti-caking agent). Even the organic cheeses shredded in the store at Central Market contain cellulose if you read the ingredients. I’ll take 2 or 3 minutes out of my cook time to shred my own cheese.

Using a fork, mash your diced avocados, finely chopped cilantro, red onion, diced tomatoes, and fresh squeezed lime juice in a bowl until your guacamole is as chunky or smooth as you like. Hint: the longer you smash and stir, the less chunky it’ll be. More avocado= thicker, more lime juice= creamier.

Cut limes into wedges for drizzling over your finished wraps.

When the chicken is done, cube it and add it to your plate of fillings. Grab your wraps (I used Mission brand Tomato Basil tortilla wraps) and get started filling. The black beans can be tossed in the wraps or served as a side dish along with the guacamole and chips. I buy Garden of Eatin’ chia seed tortilla chips.

Squeeze a wedge of lime over everything and enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

